The heights by great men reached and kept
were not attained by sudden flight,
but they, while their companions slept,
were toiling upward in the night.*
If the midnight oil does testament bear
And if my days are anything to go by
Then, by Longfellow’s words I swear
give me my wings and let me fly!
*Longfellow

I wrote this some time ago and in what has been the norm of late, it was just another draft on this space. The sister visited for 3 weeks and in true Indian tourist fashion we worked her to the bone, dragging her from pillar to post. She did complain about how a holiday should be relaxing the like but we didn’t listen.
At the end though, she left well travelled and even better fed. So all’s well.

Leave a Reply

